Photo Credit: Church of Satan archive
Magus Anton Szandor LaVey conducting a ritual with a nude altar.

History of the Church of Satan

The Church of Satan was created by our late High Priest, Magus Anton Szandor LaVey on Walpurgisnacht 1966 c.e. (common era). He declared 1966 as Year One, Anno Satanas. Since that date, the Church of Satan and Anton LaVey have become household name, at times through mis-informed or outright libelous claims, but often through respect and admiration from those who have come to admire his rational philosophy.

Our members champion personal development and rejection of herd conformity, and thus each Satanist finds his own unique path to self-deification.

Dispite our long, successful, and well documented history, there are often questions and confusion spurred by misinformtion. Let these pages educate you on the facts.

  • Sigil of Baphomet
    The symbol of our organization. Learn about it's historical origins and how a unique rendition is part of our trademark.
  • Church of Satan
    Our history is one of pride, originality, and strength. Learn the truth, and understand why it may be more diabolical than you had thought.
  • Anton Szandor LaVey
    The founder and first High Priest of the Church of Satan. Anton LaVey is one of modern history's most interesting and influential individuals.
  • Blanche Barton
    Companion to Anton LaVey and mother of his son, Magistra Templi Rex of the Church of Satan, Blanche Barton is a noted author and biographer of Anton LaVey.
  • Peter H. Gilmore
    Current High Priest of the Church of Satan. Peter H. Gilmore is a true scholar and champion of Satanism. His creativity in music, literature and art is inspirational to Satanists and other advocates of free-thought.
  • Peggy Nadramia
    Wife of Peter H. Gilmore and current High Priestess, Peggy Nadramia is an intelligent and wise woman. Her acedemic success, creative expressions and joy of life are inspirational to all Satanists.